Book Review, Film Review, Other, TV Movie, TV Series

Hogmanay Greetings!!!

A Wee Review of 2016 in Film, TV, Books and more this New Year’s Eve.

 

 

 

So as 2016, draws to a close there’s been so much happening on screen this year in film. On film at the cinema we’ve seen some fun performances with lots of 80s pop culture from that comic anti-hero in Deadpool and most of the Marvel superheroes fighting each other in Civil War. Most ridiculous superheroes being that bromance between Batman vs Superman, where they bonded over their mother’s  first name after beating the crap out each other. Which doesn’t work in real life as many a mother will justify. We’ve had Amy Adams (again) and Jeremy Renner (again) meeting Aliens in a wonderful sci-fi role in Arrival where DC gal met Marvel Boy. And I loved and laughed (and cried) at bromances like War Dogs and Eddie the Eagle. The latter being my fave with a non beardy, funny turn from Wolverine Hugh Jackman. The telly’s been great with addictive series such as Outlander as the Tartan Totty returned with his Sassenach and The Crown, leading to more tears at times for some of us. And a lovely wee interview with the man from OutlanderScott Kyle who was generous enough to give this wee blog a wee bit of time for a wee interview from his schedule.

Off screen, we’ve sadly lost so many wonderful talents both from the big and wee screen. I’ll make no reminders here, as we still know and feel their presence through their films and telly. It’s made it a difficult Christmas for watching their work, at times its felt easier knowing they may be out of pain and suffering but at times upsetting if it’s felt they went too early. Due to a more poignant passing more recently, I’ve expanded my columns to include musical entertainment to include musicians and pop stars. I’ve also added a new page where I will provide lists about the wonderful singing talents found in film and telly.

It’s not all been sad though this year, I’ve watched a great number of retro films this years with my family and enjoyed these all over again. Be it from the still to be reviewed Ferris Bueller’s Day Off to the Fast and Furious 7 movie. I’ve also watched a lot of films when I’ve joined blogathons. I’ve revisited a few films such as Charlotte’s Web, Kramer vs Kramer and When Harry met Sally. I’ve also watched some fantastic ones, and discovered some hidden unseen gems in the process. I loved watching Cary Grant and Deborah Kerr in An Affair to Remember and watched the most unlikely family ever in film – Sean Connery, Dustin Hoffman and Matthew Broderick – in Family Business.

So what for 2017? Well I have some plans, as you’ll know I aim to read and review my ever-increasing autobiography and biography list. I’ve two new pages Film/TV Music and Fun Finds to write-up about and a couple of blogathons to organise. And some new blogathons to add reviews to, And this means I’ll have the not so arduous task of watching more telly, more films and reading more film and telly articles..

So a Happy New Year and hope you all have a lovely one and here’s a wee treat of the movies to look forward to next year…. and tune in here soon for more weepers, handsqueezes and hulk moments x

30 Movies That Are Going To Blow Everyone Away In 2017, Looper, http://www.youtube.com
Love your thoughts...

